28 kWh
Model years 2017–2019
- Battery type
- NMCestimateEVKX: Hyundai Ioniq Electric 38 kWh specifications · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh (40.4 kWh gross), spec database
Quote: Cathode Materials NMC Battery gross 40.4 kWh
How we got this: EVKX lists NMC for the 38.3 kWh facelift; the earlier 28 kWh pack uses LG pouch cells of the same family. Hyundai does not name the chemistry.
- Usable battery
- 28 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers
Open EV Data entry: Hyundai IONIQ Electric (2016); market not stated in the dataset
Record: id=8a18fe98-6df5-494d-b2b0-1fda8721461e usable_battery_size=28
- Official range (EPA, new)
- 124 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers
EPA record 38431: 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2017 rating is shown for 2017-2019, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it
Record: id=38431 range=124
- Efficiency (EPA combined)
- 25 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers
EPA record 38431: 2017 Hyundai Ioniq Electric; this 2017 rating is shown for 2017-2019, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it
Record: id=38431 combE=25
- Battery wear
- 2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)
How we got this: No yearly Ioniq Electric degradation figure found. Geotab's fleet average (2.3%/yr across 21 make-models) is used.
- Expected health
- 89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 110 mi and 95 mi of EPA rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
Geotab fleet average (not Ioniq Electric-specific)
How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.
- Winter range loss
- 22% lessestimatewinter road driving, temperature not stated, compared with the WLTP ratingZapmap: Hyundai Ioniq Electric review · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
One UK Ioniq Electric 38.3 kWh in winter, Zapmap review
Quote: In real-world driving, that range was effectively down to 150 miles, when driving in winter conditions
How we got this: Our calculation: (193 - 150) / 193 = 22%. One uncontrolled winter drive of a UK 38.3 kWh car, measured against WLTP; no temperature stated. No controlled test found.
- Battery replacement cost
- $17,845estimatemaker's list price; labour included: no; 2022 priceThe Drive: replacement battery costs for six EVs (13 Sep 2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
Hyundai parts price for the 28 kWh Ioniq Electric pack, reported 2022
Quote: The cost is $17,845, almost as much as the car itself.
How we got this: The Drive took the price from Hyundai's parts site for the 2017+ Ioniq Electric (28 kWh) pack. Parts only.
- Battery warranty
- 10 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerHyundai warranty bulletin (filed with NHTSA) and Hyundai USA warranty page · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers
US Hyundai hybrid/electric battery: lifetime for the original owner of 2017-2019 cars, 10 years / 100,000 miles for later owners
Quote: 2012-2019 (Subsequent Owner) (10 years/100,000 miles)
How we got this: A used buyer is a later owner, so 10 years / 100,000 miles applies. The 70% floor is from Hyundai USA's current warranty page ('will not degrade more than 70 percent of the original capacity'), not from a 2017-2019 booklet.