All models

Used Nissan Leaf: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-17.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

24 kWh

Model years 2014–2015

Battery type
LMOsourcedEVreporter (cathode chemistry explainer; source says LMO, the enum's manganese-based blend label LMO-NMC is the closest fit) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EVreporter (cathode chemistry explainer; source says LMO, the enum's manganese-based blend label LMO-NMC is the closest fit)

Quote: LMO was popularly used in first-generation Nissan Leaf EV.

Usable battery
22 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Nissan Leaf 24 kWh (2013); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=294fb510-34b8-49be-8cf8-419d1557585a usable_battery_size=22

Official range (EPA, new)
84 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 34918: 2015 Nissan Leaf; this 2015 rating is shown for 2014-2015, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=34918 range=84

Efficiency (EPA combined)
29.6 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 34918: 2015 Nissan Leaf; this 2015 rating is shown for 2014-2015, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=34918 combE=29.6225

Battery wear
4.2% a yearsourcedmeasures battery capacityGeotab 6,300-vehicle study (2019) via Electrek; figure is for the 2015 (24 kWh) Leaf, larger 40/62 kWh packs likely degrade slower · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2015 Nissan Leaf 24 kWh (air-cooled), Geotab 2019 study

Quote: compared to an air-cooled 2015 Nissan Leaf's rate of 4.2%.

Expected health
79% after 5 years, 58% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 66 mi and 49 mi of EPA rangeGeotab 6,300-vehicle study (2019) via Electrek; figure is for the 2015 (24 kWh) Leaf, larger 40/62 kWh packs likely degrade slower · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2015 Nissan Leaf 24 kWh (air-cooled), Geotab 2019 study

Quote: compared to an air-cooled 2015 Nissan Leaf's rate of 4.2%.

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 4.2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lesssourcedfreezing vs 70°F, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent winter range study (~7,000 cars, freezing vs 70F) via Green Car Reports (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf (all packs pooled), Recurrent winter study

Quote: The big drops experienced by the Nissan Leaf (21%) and Volkswagen e-Golf (23%) are likely due to their air-cooled battery packs

Battery replacement cost
$4,500estimatequoted range; labour included: unknown; 2022 priceRecurrent (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf 24 kWh pack, Recurrent 2022 (lower bound)

How we got this: Recurrent (2022) quotes 24 kWh Leaf packs from $4,500; lower bound of the quoted range.

Battery warranty
5 years or 60,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next owner2015 Nissan LEAF Warranty Information Booklet · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

2015 US 24-kWh LEAF. Nissan expresses the threshold as below 9 of 12 displayed bars, not an exact percentage, so the percentage field is null.

Quote: the lithium-ion battery is also warranted against capacity loss below nine bars of capacity as shown on the vehicle’s battery capacity level gauge for a period of 60 months or 60,000 miles, whichever comes first.

40 kWh

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCestimateEVGuide.uk (Leaf 40kWh trims) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EVGuide.uk (Leaf 40kWh trims)

Quote: This car uses a Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC) battery.

How we got this: The cited page describes the Leaf e+ (62 kWh); NMC for the 40 kWh pack is inferred from the same generation.

Usable battery
38 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Nissan Leaf 40 kWh (2018); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=77028f96-eb9b-4c65-b452-c92011b1fc1c usable_battery_size=38

Official range (EPA, new)
150 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 40812: 2019 Nissan Leaf (40 kW-hr battery pack); this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2022, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=40812 range=150

Efficiency (EPA combined)
30.2 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 40812: 2019 Nissan Leaf (40 kW-hr battery pack); this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2022, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=40812 combE=30.1816

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: The only Leaf-specific rate (4.2%/yr) is for 2015 24 kWh packs and does not apply to 40/62 kWh packs; Geotab 2025 fleet average used. Passive air cooling may make real loss higher.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 133 mi and 116 mi of EPA rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lesssourcedfreezing vs 70°F, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent winter range study (~7,000 cars, freezing vs 70F) via Green Car Reports (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf (all packs pooled), Recurrent winter study

Quote: The big drops experienced by the Nissan Leaf (21%) and Volkswagen e-Golf (23%) are likely due to their air-cooled battery packs

Battery replacement cost
$12,000estimatequoted range; labour included: unknown; 2022 priceRecurrent (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf 40/62 kWh packs, Recurrent 2022 range midpoint

How we got this: Midpoint of Recurrent's quoted $8,000–16,000 for 40/62 kWh packs (2022); Recurrent quotes 24 kWh packs from $4,500.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next owner2019 Nissan LEAF Range, Charging and Battery (copy checked at owners.nissanusa.com; original https://www1.nissanusa.com/vehicles/electric-cars/leaf/features/range-charging-battery.html) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Official 2019 US LEAF page explicitly identifies the 40-kWh LEAF and its battery warranty. Nissan gives bars, not a percentage.

Quote: the lithium-ion battery is also warranted against capacity loss below nine segments as shown on the vehicle’s battery capacity level gauge for 96 months or 100,000 miles, whichever comes fi rst.

e+ 62 kWh

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedEVGuide.uk (Leaf e+ 62kWh trims) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EVGuide.uk (Leaf e+ 62kWh trims)

Quote: This car uses a Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC) battery.

Usable battery
59 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Nissan Leaf e+ (2022); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=95e18b3b-c48a-4209-ac9d-134393aa313c usable_battery_size=59

Official range (EPA, new)
226 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 41276: 2019 Nissan Leaf (62 kW-hr battery pack); this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2022, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=41276 range=226

Efficiency (EPA combined)
31 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 41276: 2019 Nissan Leaf (62 kW-hr battery pack); this 2019 rating is shown for 2019-2022, whose EPA ratings are within 2% (range) and 5% (efficiency) of it

Record: id=41276 combE=31

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: The only Leaf-specific rate (4.2%/yr) is for 2015 24 kWh packs and does not apply to 40/62 kWh packs; Geotab 2025 fleet average used. Passive air cooling may make real loss higher.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 200 mi and 174 mi of EPA rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lesssourcedfreezing vs 70°F, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent winter range study (~7,000 cars, freezing vs 70F) via Green Car Reports (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf (all packs pooled), Recurrent winter study

Quote: The big drops experienced by the Nissan Leaf (21%) and Volkswagen e-Golf (23%) are likely due to their air-cooled battery packs

Battery replacement cost
$12,000estimatequoted range; labour included: unknown; 2022 priceRecurrent (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf 40/62 kWh packs, Recurrent 2022 range midpoint

How we got this: Midpoint of Recurrent's quoted $8,000–16,000 for 40/62 kWh packs (2022); Recurrent quotes 24 kWh packs from $4,500.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next owner2019 Nissan LEAF Range, Charging and Battery (copy checked at owners.nissanusa.com; original https://www1.nissanusa.com/vehicles/electric-cars/leaf/features/range-charging-battery.html) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Official 2019 US page explicitly identifies the 62-kWh LEAF PLUS. Nissan states a bar threshold rather than a percentage.

Quote: the lithium-ion battery is also warranted against capacity loss below nine segments as shown on the vehicle’s battery capacity level gauge for 96 months or 100,000 miles, whichever comes fi rst.

In the UK

40 kWh

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCestimateEVGuide.uk (Leaf 40kWh trims) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EVGuide.uk (Leaf 40kWh trims)

Quote: This car uses a Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC) battery.

How we got this: The cited page describes the Leaf e+ (62 kWh); NMC for the 40 kWh pack is inferred from the same generation.

Usable battery
38 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Nissan Leaf 40 kWh (2018); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=77028f96-eb9b-4c65-b452-c92011b1fc1c usable_battery_size=38

Official range (WLTP, new)
168 misourcedAuto Express spec page, Leaf 110kW Acenta 40kWh · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Auto Express spec page, Leaf 110kW Acenta 40kWh

Quote: WLTP - Pure Electric Range (miles) - Comb 168

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: The only Leaf-specific rate (4.2%/yr) is for 2015 24 kWh packs and does not apply to 40/62 kWh packs; Geotab 2025 fleet average used. Passive air cooling may make real loss higher.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 149 mi and 129 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lesssourcedfreezing vs 70°F, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent winter range study (~7,000 cars, freezing vs 70F) via Green Car Reports (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf (all packs pooled), Recurrent winter study

Quote: The big drops experienced by the Nissan Leaf (21%) and Volkswagen e-Golf (23%) are likely due to their air-cooled battery packs

Battery replacement cost
£7,000estimategarage guide; labour included: no; 2026 priceBumper (UK car-repair finance provider) blog, 'What's the cost of replacing a Nissan Leaf battery?', dated 2026-10-01 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Quote sits under the page heading '40 kWh Battery (2018–2021 models)'; UK, new OEM pack. Value is the midpoint of the quoted range. Same page gives third-party packs at around £5,000 to £6,500 and says labour 'Can add £1,000–£2,000'. Caveat: Bumper's separate general guide (bumper.co/blog/electric-car-battery-cost) gives a non-pack-specific Leaf figure of £5,000 to £8,000 (and £4,000 to £6,000 in its table), so Bumper's own figures are not fully consistent. No method is stated. Nissan UK's widely reported £4,920 scheme price applied to 24 kWh packs, not 40 kWh.

Quote: OEM Replacement: Estimated at £6,500 to £7,500.

How we got this: Midpoint of the price range quoted by the source (range in evidence_for). Quote sits under the page heading '40 kWh Battery (2018–2021 models)'; UK, new OEM pack. Value is the midpoint of the quoted range. Same page gives third-party packs at around £5,000 to £6,500 and says labour 'Can add £1,000–£2,000'. Caveat: Bumper's separate general guide (bumper.co/blog/electric-car-battery-cost) gives a non-pack-specific Leaf figure of £5,000 to £8,000 (and £4,000 to £6,000 in its table), so Bumper's own figures are not fully consistent. No method is stated. Nissan UK's widely reported £4,920 scheme price applied to 24 kWh packs, not 40 kWh.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerYou+Nissan EV Customer Promise Terms · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK 40-kWh LEAF, including new or used vehicles. Nissan states a bar threshold, not an exact percentage.

Quote: 40 KWH LEAF : If the battery capacity level gauge of your 40 kWh Nissan Electric Vehicle falls below 9 bars (out of 12 bars) within 100,000 miles or the first 8 years of the vehicle’s life (whichever comes first), Nissan will repair or replace the damaged battery components free of charge

e+ 62 kWh

Model years 2019–2022

Battery type
NMCsourcedEVGuide.uk (Leaf e+ 62kWh trims) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EVGuide.uk (Leaf e+ 62kWh trims)

Quote: This car uses a Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC) battery.

Usable battery
59 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Nissan Leaf e+ (2022); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=95e18b3b-c48a-4209-ac9d-134393aa313c usable_battery_size=59

Official range (WLTP, new)
239 misourcedAuto Express / Nissan UK feature (WLTP 'up to' figure; higher trims rated lower) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Auto Express / Nissan UK feature (WLTP 'up to' figure; higher trims rated lower)

Quote: Opt for the LEAF e+ 62kWh and that range increases to 239 miles

Battery wear
2.3% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: The only Leaf-specific rate (4.2%/yr) is for 2015 24 kWh packs and does not apply to 40/62 kWh packs; Geotab 2025 fleet average used. Passive air cooling may make real loss higher.

Expected health
89% after 5 years, 77% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 212 mi and 184 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab (2025 study, 21 make-models) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab 2025 fleet average (not Leaf-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2.3% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lesssourcedfreezing vs 70°F, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent winter range study (~7,000 cars, freezing vs 70F) via Green Car Reports (2022) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Nissan Leaf (all packs pooled), Recurrent winter study

Quote: The big drops experienced by the Nissan Leaf (21%) and Volkswagen e-Golf (23%) are likely due to their air-cooled battery packs

Battery replacement cost
£9,000estimategarage guide; labour included: no; 2026 priceBumper (UK car-repair finance provider) blog, 'What's the cost of replacing a Nissan Leaf battery?', dated 2026-10-01 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Quote sits under the page heading '62 kWh Battery (Leaf e+ models)'; UK, new OEM pack. Value is the midpoint of the quoted range. Third-party: approximately £7,000 to £8,500. Labour stated separately as adding £1,000–£2,000. No method is stated.

Quote: OEM Replacement: Costs can range from £8,500 to £9,500.

How we got this: Midpoint of the price range quoted by the source (range in evidence_for). Quote sits under the page heading '62 kWh Battery (Leaf e+ models)'; UK, new OEM pack. Value is the midpoint of the quoted range. Third-party: approximately £7,000 to £8,500. Labour stated separately as adding £1,000–£2,000. No method is stated.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milessourcedfrom new; covers defects; no capacity level stated; passes to the next ownerYou+Nissan EV Customer Promise Terms · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK 62-kWh LEAF, including new or used vehicles. Nissan states a bar threshold rather than a percentage.

Quote: 62 KWH LEAF : If the battery capacity level gauge of your 62 kWh Nissan Electric Vehicle falls below 9 bars (out of 12 bars) within 100,000 miles or the first 8 years of the vehicle’s life (whichever comes first), Nissan will repair or replace the damaged battery components free of charge

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.