All models

Used Renault Zoe: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-18.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the UK

ZE40 (41 kWh)

Model years 2017–2019

Battery type
NMCsourcedGIZ Battery Ecosystem Report · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

GIZ battery table: Renault Zoe ZE40 pack (LG Chem cells), NMC 622

Quote: Li-ion NMC 622

Usable battery
41 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Renault Zoe R110 ZE40 (2019); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=c53b5947-23a3-420c-9798-f3846732e41a usable_battery_size=41

Official range (WLTP, new)
186 misourcedRenault UK 2019 Zoe brochure (copy hosted at xr793.com) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK brochure, ZE40 (41 kWh) R110 and Q90; optional 17-inch tyres lower it to 174 miles

Quote: Now that ZOE is available with Z.E. 40 Battery giving a revolutionary WLTP* range of 186 miles on one charge

Battery wear
2% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab light-car average (not Zoe-specific)

How we got this: No Zoe-specific yearly degradation figure found (Zoe data found was per mileage or single owner readings, which cannot be turned into a yearly rate). Geotab's light-car average is 2.0%/yr (fleet average 2.3%/yr across 21 make-models).

Expected health
90% after 5 years, 80% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 167 mi and 149 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab light-car average (not Zoe-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
33% lessestimateRenault's real-world winter estimate (heating in use); no test temperature stated, compared with the WLTP ratingRenault UK 2019 Zoe brochure (copy hosted at xr793.com) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK 2019 brochure estimate for the ZE40

Quote: Renault estimates average real world driving figures for this vehicle as 186 miles in summer and 124 miles in winter, depending on the factors above.

How we got this: Our calculation from Renault's own summer and winter estimates: (186 - 124) / 186 = 33%. The summer figure equals the 186-mile WLTP rating, so the loss is shown against WLTP.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 66%; passes to the next ownerRenault UK Z.E. warranty terms · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK warranty for owned ZOE i traction batteries, registrations from February 2018

Quote: ZOE i: 8 years or 100,000 miles or below 66% minimum battery capacity (whichever comes first).

How we got this: Applies to owned-battery (ZOE i) cars registered from 1 February 2018. Cars registered before then had 5 years / 60,000 miles / 70% (Renault UK terms before February 2018); those have expired either way by 2026. A hired battery is covered by the hire agreement instead (see the warning).

ZE50 (52 kWh)

Model years 2020–2024

Battery type
NMCsourcedGIZ Battery Ecosystem Report · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

GIZ battery table: Renault Zoe ZE50 pack (LG Chem cells), NMC 712

Quote: Li-ion NMC 712

Usable battery
52 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-18
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Renault Zoe R135 ZE50 (2019); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=5079c683-69ba-44b3-b8c8-d31fa00c97a1 usable_battery_size=52

Official range (WLTP, new)
238 misourcedRenault UK New Zoe brochure, December 2019 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK ZE50 trims under WLTP: 238-245 miles; the lowest (GT Line R135) is shown

Quote: PLAY R110 245 miles, ICONIC R110 and ICONIC R135 239 miles and GT LINE R135 238 miles.

Battery wear
2% a yearestimatemeasures battery capacityGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab light-car average (not Zoe-specific)

How we got this: No Zoe-specific yearly degradation figure found. Geotab's light-car average is 2.0%/yr (fleet average 2.3%/yr across 21 make-models).

Expected health
90% after 5 years, 80% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 214 mi and 190 mi of WLTP rangeGeotab EV battery health study (page labels it 2025/2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Geotab light-car average (not Zoe-specific)

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 2% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
36% lessestimateRenault's real-world winter estimate vs its summer estimate; no test temperature stated, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRenault UK New Zoe brochure, December 2019 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK manufacturer estimates for the ZE50 R110 and R135

Quote: Renault estimates average real-world driving figures for this vehicle as 233 miles in summer and 150 miles in winter

How we got this: Our calculation from Renault's own summer and winter estimates: (233 - 150) / 233 = 35.6%. The summer figure (233) is below the WLTP rating, so the loss is shown as a % only, not as winter miles.

Battery replacement cost
No reliable figure yet
Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerRenault UK E-Tech electric warranty, 1 July 2020 - 31 July 2022 · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Renault UK battery warranty for Zoe E-Tech electric registered July 2020 - July 2022

Quote: Years 1-3 = 80% / Years 4-8 = 70%.

How we got this: 8 years / 100,000 miles for every UK ZE50 registration. The capacity floor changed: 66% before March 2020; 80% (years 1-3) then 66-70% for March-July 2020 and July 2020-July 2022 cars; 70% from August 2022. 70% is shown, the floor for years 4-8 of most cars.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.